Light and Shade

Light and Shade

The narrator, Nick Carraway of the book “The Great Gatsby” begins the soliloquy in the first chapter as he recalls his father once said:
“Whenever you feel like criticizing any one, just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”

Whenever I feel like criticizing someone, the soliloquy would float on my mind. And sometimes, I would swallow some words.

Light and Shade (2)

… 一株香草伴孤魂 …

夜閱莊子見此一段:
莊子將死, 弟子欲厚葬之. 莊子曰: “吾以天地為棺槨, 以日月為連璧, 星辰為珠璣, 萬物為齎送. 吾葬具豈不備邪? 何以加此.”
弟子曰: “吾恐烏鳶之食夫子也.”
莊子曰: “在上為烏鳶食, 在下為螻蟻食, 奪彼與此, 何其偏也.”

世有金縷玉衣, 金字塔. 然也有莊子, 想其一生實令俺心如有石壓.
無以為念, 賦圖悼之.

About NgTom

Three fundamental constituents support my life; they are literature, philosophy and photography. And I am rather glad that I don't really need them to sustain my living. But, it only implies my incompetent.
This entry was posted in This is how I see the world and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Light and Shade

  1. Great advice.
    The photos are so different. Both beautiful, but I like the top one best – a bit dreamy, it invites you to gaze longer and appreciate all the little subtle shadings and shapes.

    • NgTom says:

      The first one is shot with natural light, it tries to express our original, or pure, feeling.
      The second one is shot with artificial light, it tries to mourn one of the ancient philosopher 莊子.
      Thank you so much for the kind comment…
      I treasure it with my heart…

  2. RobynG says:

    i love that quote! something to live by!

  3. Lovely examples of light and shade. Next time I am aobut to criticize someone, I will remember the quote that you have posted above. 🙂

  4. Alastair says:

    Great photos and a brilliant quote.

    Excellent post Tom

  5. Really like this post, especially your explanation about ancient philosopher 莊子. It adds a different dimension to Fitzgerald’s wonderful line.

  6. 清雅

    生香

    问先生好!

  7. Suze says:

    I recently finished The Great Gatsby (have had it in my boook shelve for quite a time!)
    I totally remember that part!

    • NgTom says:

      I read the book when I was rather young.
      I keep reading it from time to time.
      Thanks for the words and visits…
      P.S. I enjoy reading your blog…

  8. Brilliance, once achieved, is difficult to surpass–yet, you have done exactly that, dear friend!

  9. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog recently! I really appreciate every single “like!”

  10. Like yourr photos and the quote. Thanks for coming to my site.

  11. a man on our floor keeps an ikibana flower arrangement on the hall table. I enjoy it everyday, looking at the reflection in a mirror – the shadows. I will think of your post and this wonderful quote. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

