A City Corner…home of homeless person

The corner of a cityThe corner of a city 3The corner of a city 5The corner of a city 6The corner of a city 7The corner of a city 8

After reading the Post, http://russelrayphotos2.com/2013/01/20/the-new-years-first-warm-cloudless-day/ , from Russel Ray Photos,

I decided to post this post.

About NgTom

Three fundamental constituents support my life; they are literature, philosophy and photography. And I am rather glad that I don't really need them to sustain my living. But, it only implies my incompetent.
This entry was posted in This is how I see the world and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A City Corner…home of homeless person

  1. Very intriguing images, Ng Tom…a beautiful city, gorgeous modern architecture…both implying a ‘richness’ of Life…then the architecture of the common man, cardboard, and recycled things to make himself comfortable. Sad, in a way, but I’ll wager he is happier than those living in the pricey highrises!

    • NgTom says:

      I always have some doubts.
      say, what is a richness of life?
      Whenever I encounter the homeless people,
      I always want to ask them: are you happy?
      …..

      • But do you ask? I have, at times in the past, and the answer was usually, “Yes!”, and the person would talk on re: how free they felt from the ‘worries’ of the world. Curiously, if I were homeless, I’d be worrying all the time where my next meal would come from, and the next hot shower and clean bed.

        For many (at least here in the States), it seems to be a choice, Ng Tom…one which I try to, yet don’t understand.

        It is written, “The poor will always be with you.”, which is understood to be those without money…but some of these homeless have the richest hearts, and don’t even consider themselves poor. They seem to take the material world a lot less seriously than most.

      • NgTom says:

        Never did I ask. Madam.
        I think there must have some problems, both human nature and public policy
        in a modern city to see people without a place to live.
        Have a nice day…

      • You are correct, Sir…very correct in your assessment. And, thank you!!!

  2. Very humbling. Thank you, Tom.

  3. 我这个冷血的
    都被你温暖了
    TOM, 你很不一样
    🙂

  4. This is very moving and I think of the homeless when we have long cold snowy winters here in western NY..Michelle

  5. marviiilous says:

    It is a hard life or misfortune that has led them to this. Here, in West Central Arkansas, there is a church with an army of volunteers that provides breakfast and lunch EVERYDAY to the needy. It’s relieving to know at least they have a PLACE to go to get free daily meals.

    • NgTom says:

      Similar arrangements here in Hongkong, both by Govt. and charitable institution.
      It is indeed not a good feeling to see the scene of man in such situation.
      Thanks for your kind concern…

  6. Lisa says:

    Lovely city!! Wow seeing the homeless persons home sure reminds me of how very fortunate I am to have a nice home and snuggly bed!

  7. Still Times says:

    Great post although troubling a bit for me. When I see homeless and the begging I feel a tightening in my chest. I want to help them all and of course that’s not possible. There is one person that I know of here in this little rural town we live in that carries his world in 3 tattered totes. Whether by choice or misfortune, this poor soul needs help. Very thought provoking post NgTom, thank you.

    Maria

  8. NgTom says:

    I always have a sad moment of helplessness
    whenever I see them and how I dislike myself to walk away…
    Thanks for your kind concern…tom

  9. lengxuetian says:

    人生冷暖…西洋人和东方人对生活的解释是天差万别的…
    辉煌的高楼大厦和这连草屋茅棚都不如的”家”…
    鲜明的对比..鲜明的一根线…

    祝先生新春吉祥!!

  10. NgTom, this is a very powerful post, thank you for sharing the link that inspired you as well as your own images. Like everyone else, there is an inner sense of unease in seeing these. I have a friend who, after several personal tragedies, was homeless for a while. He said he had to go through it to get to the other side; he is well now and works to help other homeless, so it doesn’t have to be the “end of the road”

    And thank you for your wonderful set of “Likes” on my photos – deeply appreciated!

  11. Sunshine says:

    one notable thing is how orderly and tidy this homeless person(s) keep their area. maybe a few of us need to become homeless in order to appreciate what we throw around without care or appreciation in a real home. great photos, Ng. thanks for sharing. ♥

  12. weedimageoftheday says:

    The images of the homeless person’s home are sweet, haunting, heartbreaking and hopeful all at the same time. Very nice set of images that tell a story!. I also really like your comment posted up above:
    I always have a sad moment of helplessness
    whenever I see them and how I dislike myself to walk away…
    Thanks for your kind concern…tom

    That describes the emotions I feel when I encounter a homeless person. So honest. And thank you Tom, for your countless likes on my blog. I sincerely appreciate it.

    • NgTom says:

      Thank for your kind comment.
      I appreciate it…
      And thank for sharing your blog,,
      it gives me many good times…

  13. Too bad. Nobody should be homeless. But somebody (you) have to document this side of the modern world.

Leave a Reply

