The flower in the mountain

The flower in the mountain The flower in the mountain Without the mind of human, will the flower still exist? Is it all about the matter of intentionality? One thing for sure is that the flower will still live and die, as Shakespeare once said.

For information about “Intentionality”, Please read

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/intentionality/

王陽明 Wang Yang-ming (1472-1529) 傳習錄卷下

先生遊南鎮, 一友指巖中花樹問曰:「天下無心外之物. 如此花樹在深山中自開自落, 於我心亦何相關? 」先生曰:「你未看此花時, 此花與汝心同歸於寂. 你來看此花時, 則此花顏色一時明白起來, 便知此花不在你的心外.

For information about Wang Yang-ming, please read

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/635432/Wang-Yangming

About NgTom

Three fundamental constituents support my life; they are literature, philosophy and photography. And I am rather glad that I don't really need them to sustain my living. But, it only implies my incompetent.
This entry was posted in This is how I see the world and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The flower in the mountain

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    The flower looks very big.

  2. Lovely, very lovely capture, dear friend! Was there just the one? And thank you very much for the links…they will make for some great reading later this afternoon!

    • NgTom says:

      Thank you.
      Just only one in the woods. It has a very peculiar odor.
      A very nice weekend to you, Madam…

      • I shall try to research it, shouldn’t be difficult, as there are not many flowering plants which produce such a large flower!

        My weekend begins, after a (hopefully) good night’s rest, then I am back to Photoshopping images for several days, but hoping to sneak in some time to work on my painting, which I’ve put off for too much time.

  3. 我喜欢的一首抄录于此,分享

    何处花香入夜清?石林茅屋隔溪声。
    幽人月出每孤往,栖鸟山空时一鸣。
    草露不辞芒履湿,松风偏与葛衣轻;
    临流欲写猗兰意,江北江南无限情。

    《龙潭夜坐》

    另:请问先生看这幽幽花色时?何感。。。

    🙂

    想必“心既是理”。

  4. Hello- I just wanted to stop by & let you know that I nominated your work for “Blog of the Year 2012!” More details can be found here: http://arcanearrangements.com/2013/01/25/blog-of-the-year-2012-part-two/ Keep up the great work & enjoy the day! 🙂

  5. 好厉害的TOM
    ~ 此文已不在我心外了 🙂

  6. sued51 says:

    Lovely photos, Tom. That flower is quite striking because of its size and color. You must have been quite happy to find it!

  7. Peripatetic Eric says:

    I see the flower, don’t think about it, then we are both gone.

  8. rutheh says:

    Thank you for taking time to click the like button on my blog today! Best to you.

Leave a Reply

